Skip to content

Open Question of the Day

10/20/2009
by

Did I do a disservice to all women in science by asking a male colleague to remove a bug from my office…

…twice?

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Amy M. permalink
    03/05/2010 10:39 am

    I don’t think you’re doing women a disservice, as bugs are gross no matter which gender you are. But, man or woman, Julia v. bug-in-office or Casey v. centipede-in-kitchen, we should all realize we’re bigger than the bug and just SQUASH IT (or trap it and put it outside). Then you can tell everyone how brave you are.

  2. 11/06/2009 4:50 pm

    My sister’s husband often calls her and asks that she come home as soon as she can, because there is a bug in a certain room and he needs to go in to that room. She drives home to kill bugs for him. I am also the bug killer in my house. Therefore, this has nothing to do with gender, some people just don’t like bugs. I often force my roomate to reach tall things for me, even though there is a step stool four feet away.

  3. 10/26/2009 4:07 pm

    I seriously don’t think so. Being bothered by bugs doesn’t have anything to do with how good a scientist you are! Science is essentially dominated by men, but that doesn’t mean you have to be LIKE a man to do science. So being scared of bugs (it’s sort of a genetic thing; don’t stress) just reinforces that you can be inherently feminine and still be a scientist. Q.E.D., you are a role model. Way to go!

Leave a Reply

